Correction to Bayview Food Scene- a little known gem

Awhile back ,we shared this exciting foodie find with you, but accidentally identified all of Fox and Lion Bread’s company information was used with Earl’s Bread name. (original post on the Bayview Food Scene)  Earl and  Fox and Lion’s founder, do Xan deVoss share a table at the Bayview market but are two separate companies.  Fox and Lion Bread is a micro bakery focused on creating artisan breads using the finest local ingredients. Here is how Xan explains his foray into artisan baking and the founding of his business,

Screen shot 2014-03-06 at 9.20.50 AM

Fox and Lion’s Chocolate Bread

“I learned how to bake bread over 30 years ago from my father Gary. We baked mostly dinner rolls and my proudest moments were when I would get to punch down the dough.

After my first child was born I began experimenting with naturally fermented breads. My loaves went from flat rocks to delicious loaves as I learned how different variations produced vastly different results.

As I studied more about this type of artisan bread I became more and more fascinated by the process. As you ferment breads naturally for long periods of time the breads are easier to digest and the flavors are deep and subtle.

Fox and Lion is a tribute to my two family names, DeVoss and Levine. As artisan breads have a long history with regards to community and family, it is important to me to use bread to create cultural ties that bridge community and family heritage.

It is my hope that by producing wholesome breads for my community that this will be the catalyst for my neighbors to create tradition by “breaking bread” with their families.”

For more about Fox and Lion, including pick-up locations and bi-weekly and weekly bread “subscriptions, check out foxandlionbread.com.

Leave a Reply

