Guest Blog: Day of the Dead Bread- The Origins

Standard

Originally posted on Mexico Retold:

I am so excited to bring you the latest Mexico Retold, guest blog, this time all about Day of the Dead or more specifically Day of the Dead bread! I thought I knew a lot about Mexican food, but Andrea Lawson Gray (co-author of Celebraciones Mexicanas: History, Traditions and Recipes) takes it to another level. I hope that you will find this piece as fascinating and enlightening as I did, and if you get baking, I want to see those pictures! Andrea’s book is definitely going on my Christmas wish list! 

pan de muerto

The following is excerpted from Celebraciones Mexicanas: History, Traditions and Recipes by Andrea Lawson Gray and Adriana Almazan Lahl (see website at www.celebracionesmexicanas.com for ordering information)

Origins of Day of the Dead Bread

Pan de muertos (Day of the Dead bread) is as fascinating in its folklore as it is in its variety of shape and style. Undoubtedly a…

View original 707 more words

About My Mission: Tastes of SF

San Francisco’s Mission District is a foodie paradise, a world of tastes unto itself. Multi-ethnic and lingual, noisy, colorful, aromatic. A 12-year Mission resident, this is my backyard, a sprawling shopping mall of foods, spices, and flavor; and in it, I am constantly discovering new gems, like a fruit from Mexico that’s only available for a week just before Christmas (tejocotes) or a restaurant that converts its menu and name one night week to support and celebrate free-range, sustainably sourced hogs (Regalito becomes Pigalito on Tuesdays). Join me on a journey to where food is more than a passion, its a destination. As owner/chef at Tres Señoritas Gourmet Mexican Catering, I travel between the Mission and Mexico, tasting my way through both, studying, honing my skills as cook and budding a food anthropologist. CASA LA TIA, my guest house is under construction in Tenango de Valle, Mexico and scheduled to open Summer 2016. A volunteer at International High School working on Diversity issues and a single mother of 3 amazing, tril-lingual, multi-cultural kids; my cultural cookbook, Celebraciones Mexicanas: History, Traditions and Recipes will be in stores in September 2013.

One response »

Leave a Reply

